Plan your studiesAustralia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards Scholarships are awards administered by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Previously known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), these awards grant opportunities to individuals from developing countries, particularly countries in the Indo-Pacific region, to attend higher education at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions. 

Australia Awards Scholarships are just some of the many scholarships offered to international students wishing to pursue their degree in Australia. Australia Awards Scholarships aims to give students from developing countries the necessary skills and knowledge so they can go back to their country upon graduation and contribute to its development. Let’s learn more about who is eligible and what the benefits are.

Who is eligible for the Australia Awards Scholarships? 

This scholarship is designed for countries located in the Indo-Pacific region. The eligible nationalities for the Australia Awards Scholarships are: 

Eligible Nationalities

Citizens coming from the participating countries in Asia, Pacific, Africa, and the Middle East are eligible to apply for the Australian Awards Scholarship. More specifically: 

Asia: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Vietnam.

Pacific: Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna.

Africa: Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia.

Middle East: Palestinian Territories.

Other Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible to apply for the Australia Awards Scholarships, in addition to the nationality criteria, you should also meet the following requirements: 

  • Be at least 18 years old, on the 1st of February on the year of starting the scholarship. 
  • Not be a citizen of Australia or hold permanent residency in Australia.
  • Not be married/engaged to a person who holds/is eligible to hold Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency during the scholarship mobilisation phases. 
  • Not have received another Australian scholarship before, except if they have resided outside of Australia for twice the duration of their former scholarship. 
  • Not be part of currently serving military personnel.
  • Be able to meet higher education admission requirements at the participating institution.
  • Be able to meet student visa requirements set by the Department of Home Affairs.
  • Be able to meet the requirements set by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship.
  • Not be applying for a programme at an academic level which is lesser than what the applicant has already pursued, for example applying for a Master’s scholarship if the applicant already holds a PhD is prohibited.

What does the Australia Awards Scholarship cover? 

The duration of the Australia Awards Scholarship is in accordance with the duration of the academic programme as specified by the Australian higher education institution. The Australia Awards Scholarship generally covers the following: 

  • Tuition fees. The scholarship covers full tuition fees.
  • Return air travel. This includes payment of a single return, economy class ticket to and from Australia.
  • Establishment allowance. This is a one-time payment covering accommodation, expenses, study materials. 
  • Contribution to Living Expenses (CLE). A contribution paid once every two weeks, which covers basic living expenses. 
  • Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC). Health cover for the duration of the award, covering basic medical costs. 
  • Pre-course English (PCE) fees. When applicable.
  • Introductory Academic Program (IAP). This is a mandatory programme that takes place before the start of your academic studies, and it gives information on being a student in Australia.

How to apply for the Australia Awards Scholarship?

To apply for the Australia Awards Scholarship simply go through the following steps:  

  • Check the opening and closing dates for your country. The closing dates are usually on the 30th of April, annually, and begin on the 1st of February of the same year.
  • Check if you meet the eligibility criteria. (As mentioned above). 
  • Check whether you are required to submit an online or hardcopy application. This depends on the country you come from, so review the participating countries list to see country-specified criteria. 
  • If you apply online: 
    • Go to Online Australia Scholarships Information System (OASIS), and register online. 
    • Set up a draft application form and update it when necessary up until the closing date.
    • Once you submit your application, it cannot be changed, so only submit it if you think it is properly completed.
  • If you apply by mail: 
    • Obtain a hardcopy application form including any other templates such as referee reports (if applicable). You can do so by checking your participating country profile.
    • Submit the completed application form and additional documents in time, according to the country’s deadline. 

Which are the Australia Awards Scholarships participating institutions? 

The participating institutions for the Australia Awards Scholarships are: 

  • Australian Catholic University
  • Aviation Australia
  • Bond University
  • Box Hill Institute TAFE
  • Bureau of Meteorology
  • Canberra Institute of Technology
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Central Queensland University
  • Charles Darwin University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Chisholm Institute of TAFE
  • Curtin University of Technology
  • Deakin University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Federation University
  • Flinders University
  • Griffith University
  • Holmesglen Institute of TAFE
  • James Cook University
  • Kangan Institute
  • La Trobe University
  • Macquarie University
  • Melbourne Polytechnic
  • Monash University
  • Murdoch University
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • RMIT University
  • Southern Cross University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • TAFE Queensland
  • Tasmanian Polytechnic
  • The Australian National University
  • The Gordon Institute of TAFE
  • The University of Adelaide
  • The University of Melbourne
  • The University of New England
  • The University of New South Wales (including ADFA)
  • The University of Newcastle
  • The University of Queensland
  • The University of Sydney
  • The University of Western Australia
  • University College London
  • University of Canberra
  • University of South Australia
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of Tasmania (including the Australian Maritime College)
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • University of The Sunshine Coast
  • University of Wollongong
  • Victoria University
  • Western Sydney University
  • William Angliss Institute of TAFE

Which are the conditions of the Australia Awards Scholarships? 

Those who have been awarded an Australia Awards Scholarship will be required to sign a contract with the Commonwealth of Australia admitting to abide by the conditions of the scholarship. Additionally, the study programme the applicant chooses must be related to their country’s priority areas of development. 

Students who attend higher education in Australia on this scholarship are required to leave Australia for a minimum of two years after the completion of the scholarship. If they do not return as required, they will be in debt for the accumulated cost of the scholarship. 

Latest Articles

More articles